Our history

The Company of the Mouettes genevoises navigation SA (SMGN) manages a lakeside shipping line of Geneva (Switzerland) created on March 1st, 1897. These boats are collectively known under the name of  Mouettes genevoises.

The scope of the company is the natural harbour of Geneva where she serves 4,3 km of lines (lines M1, M2 M3 and M4). She navigates all year long since January 12th, 2004.

The Mouettes genevoises follow upon a service connecting Pâquis with Eaux-Vives and created in 1825 by Edward Church, businessman and consul of the United States in France. For reasons of slowness and noise, the existence of this boat with merry-go-round (paddle boat moved by horses turning on the bridge is however brief.

Until June, 2007, the activities of the SMGN were bound to that of the company Swissboat, who exploits the tourist fleet. A tourist line proposes the descent of the Rhône until Verbois.

Composition of the fleet

  • 3 boats wooden history from 30 to 50 places.
  • 1 boat hull(shell) steel of 50 places.
  • 2 boats with solar electric propulsion of 60 places.

Evolution of the fleet

For lack of a development of new lines, the SMGN bends over the more modern construction of new boats. Projects are at present for the study with the cooperation of the State of Geneva.

The new landing stage Châteaubriand (as high as the street of the same name giving onto the Quay Wilson / right bank) is in service since 2010. He replaced the old landing stage of the Pearl of the Lake, less indeed connected to the lines of Genevan Public transports and inaccessible to the disabled persons.

Comments are closed

Notre histoire

La Société des Mouettes genevoises navigation SA (SMGN) gère une compagnie de navigation lacustre de Genève (Suisse) créée le 1er mars 1897. Ses bateaux sont communément connus sous le nom de Mouettes genevoises.

Le rayon d’action de la compagnie est la rade de Genève où elle dessert 4,3 km de lignes (lignes M1, M2 M3 et M4). Les Mouettes naviguent toute l’année depuis 2004.

Les Mouettes genevoises font suite à un service reliant Les Pâquis aux Eaux-Vives et créé en 1825 par Edward Church, homme d’affaires et consul des États-Unis en France. Pour des raisons de lenteur et de bruit, l’existence de ce bateau à manège (bateau à aubes mû par des chevaux tournant sur le pont) est cependant brève.

 

Composition de la flotte

  • 3 bateaux historiques en bois de 30 à 50 places.
  • 1 bateau coque acier de 50 places.
  • 2 bateaux à propulsion électro-solaire de 60 places.

Évolution de la flotte

A défaut d’un développement de nouvelles lignes, la SMGN se penche sur la construction de nouveaux bateaux plus moderne. Des projets sont actuellement à l’étude avec la collaboration de l’Etat de Genève.

Le nouveau débarcadère de-Châteaubriand (à la hauteur de la rue du même nom donnant sur le Quai Wilson / rive droite) est en service depuis 2010. Il a remplacé l’ancien débarcadère de la Perle du Lac, moins bien connecté aux lignes des Transports publics genevois et inaccessible aux personnes handicapées.

Les commentaires sont clos.